Women's History - VIA Metropolitan Transit

Women’s History

Image: Celebrating Women's History Month

VIA is celebrating Women’s History Month!

Join us in recognizing women’s lasting contributions in San Antonio and beyond and honoring those who have been part of VIA’s history.

About Women’s History Month

Women’s History Month grew out of a weeklong celebration organized by the school district of Sonoma, California, in 1978. In 1980, President Jimmy Carter issued the first presidential proclamation declaring the week of March 8 as National Women’s History Week. Six years later, the National Women’s History Project successfully petitioned Congress to expand the event to the entire month of March.

Spotlight on Success

Get to know five amazing women whose life and legacy have helped shape VIA’s future.
From VIA’s Founding Chair of the Board to our outstanding team of operators, women help make VIA work.

Women’s History
Women’s History
Women’s History
Women’s History

Women’s History

Women at VIA

VIA celebrates and encourages the advancement of women in the transportation industry and is committed to supporting a diverse and inclusive environment. Women serve in every role on our team, including Operations and Maintenance, Safety and Security, Public Engagement, Administration, Management and more.

By The Numbers

Image: Women at VIA

VIA’s administration staff includes 475 WOMEN who work in a wide range of areas from communications and marketing to planning and engineering, legal services, customer relations, accessibility services, and many more.

There are 24 WOMEN in leadership roles at VIA, including half of our Senior Executive Management Team.

Women’s History

226 WOMEN, including both bus and van operators, help keep San Antonio moving every day.

Women’s History

31 WOMEN are part of VIA’s maintenance crews, making sure VIA vehicles and facilities are safe and clean.

5 WOMEN serve on the VIA Board, and include the Board Vice Chair and immediate past chair.

Image: Hope Andrade and Jeff Arndt


VIA President and CEO Jeffrey C. Arndt was the San Antonio Chapter’s inaugural recipient of the Secretary Ray LaHood Award, created by WTS International, and was recognized as an outstanding role model who has contributed to the advancement of women. He was also selected by the National Diversity Council as an Individual DiversityFIRST Leadership Award winner for his service as a lifetime champion for diversity and inclusion.

“Jeff has dedicated his career to leading by example on issues like collaboration, inclusion, and access to opportunity in the transportation industry. With Jeff’s leadership, VIA consistently supports initiatives focused on diversity, respect, and inclusiveness in every aspect as part of our service to the community.” – Hope Andrade, Former Texas Secretary of State and VIA Board Chair.