SAN ANTONIO (Feb. 4, 2016) – The South West Transit Association (SWTA) selected VIA President/CEO Jeffrey C. Arndt as vice president of the organization’s Board of Directors at its annual meeting held Feb. 1, in Mesa, Ariz.

“I look forward to increasing my involvement on the SWTA Board in this new capacity. Together, we will further SWTA’s mission to advance public transportation choices in the communities we serve,” said Arndt.

Arndt will serve a one-year term and may be re-elected for an additional year. He previously served SWTA as a director at large, along with 18 representatives from across eight Southwestern states.

SWTA is a regional transit association formed in 1979 to represent transit operators and others interested in public transit issues in the states of Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. In recent years, the organization’s primary focus has been on advocacy, professional development, and networking.

VIA Metropolitan Transit provides public transportation services to 13 cities in the Greater San Antonio Region and the unincorporated areas of Bexar County. VIA operates seven days a week on 90 routes, and VIA provided 44 million rides across the region last year. VIA’s mission is to enhance the community’s quality of life by providing regional and customer-oriented public transportation that is dependable, cost-effective and enticing to more riders. VIA’s AAA bond rating reflects the organization’s sound management and financial practices. Visit for more information. Follow us on,, and