Volunteer group to advocate for Keep SA Moving projects

The VIA Metropolitan Transit Board of Trustees has appointed 21 community members to the newly created Council to Keep San Antonio Moving, signaling another significant step toward working with the community to realize a more connected and accessible future for the greater San Antonio region.

The council is composed of local transit advocates who will serve on the all-volunteer group, created to help inform and engage the public about innovative projects and services that are part of VIA’s Keep San Antonio Moving plan, funded by a reallocation of an existing 1/8th-cent sales tax beginning in 2026, approved by San Antonio voters in November 2020.

“The VIA Council to Keep San Antonio Moving will help strengthen our connection to the public we serve by having conversations, sharing information, and gathering feedback that will help drive a more vibrant, mobile future for San Antonio,” VIA President/CEO Jeffrey C. Arndt said.

The Council to Keep San Antonio Moving members are as follows:

♦ Antoinette Asemota, Chief Development Officer, The Lemonade Circle
♦ Matthew Baiza, Texas State Director, NextGen America
♦ Rebecca Brune, Executive Director, The Congregational Collective
♦ Audrey Brunner, Community Engagement & Advancement Officer, Hallmark University
♦ Veronica Contreras, Corporate Human Resources Manager, San Antonio Shoes
♦ Parker Dixon, Board Member and Policy Chair, Circular San Antonio
♦ Roy E. Elizondo, Retired
♦ Hugh Hawthorne Farr, Chief Development Officer, Big Brothers Big Sisters of South Texas
♦ Paola Sofia Fernandez, Senior Urban Planner, Stantec
♦ Neil Gabrielson, Senior Aviation Planner, Garver
♦ Nell Glazener-Cooney, Senior Program Manager, eTeam for Uber
♦ Dona Kotzur, President/CEO, The Arc of San Antonio
♦ Micah Leonard, Associate Transportation Researcher, Texas A&M Transportation Institute
♦ Will Maney, Research Engineer, USAA
♦ Dr. Daniel P. Martinez, CEO, Greater San Antonio Chapter of the American Red Cross; and CEO, Your Partners in Mission LLC
♦ Victoria Moe, Director of Strategic Initiatives, San Antonio College
♦ Steven Ollek, Portfolio Lead, Defense Unicorns
♦ Paola Aguirre Serrano, Partner, Borderless Studio
♦ Alma Turgeon, P.E., Assistant Project Manager, Colliers Engineering & Design
♦ Arturo Veliz, Jr., Retired
♦ William White, P.E., Deputy Project Manager/Traffic Engineer, Gonzalez, Kypuros & White, Inc.

Serving as key ambassadors for the Keep SA Moving Plan, the council will focus on fostering meaningful connections with the community and championing public transit as a utility for access and opportunity for all residents and businesses in the region. The Council will play a pivotal role in building momentum for public transit solutions, leveraging their expertise and networks to inspire support and gather insights that enrich the vision for the greater San Antonio region’s transportation future.

Learn more about VIA’s Keep San Antonio Moving plan at KeepSAmoving.com.