SAN ANTONIO (Jan. 28, 2016) – The VIA Metropolitan Transit Board of Trustees elected two officers at their Jan. 26, 2016 meeting: Stephen P. Allison as the vice chair and Lester Bryant as the secretary.


Trustee Allison was re-elected as vice chair of the VIA Board. Allison was appointed to the VIA Board in December 2009 by the Greater Bexar County Council of Cities, and he was first elected as vice chair in January 2015. He is a partner at Jefferson Cano Allison Barkley, PLLC, and has more than 40 years of legal experience.

Trustee Bryant will serve as secretary of the VIA Board for 2016. Bryant was first appointed to the Board in September 2014 by the City of San Antonio. He also serves on the Board of Directors for the American Public Transportation Association (APTA), and as the Secretary of the APTA Transit Board Member Committee. He is a financial services professional with Mass Mutual South Texas and has more than 30 years’ experience in telecommunications, information technology, and financial services.

The VIA Board of Trustees vice chair and secretary both serve a one-year term. The chair of the Board is elected by the Board members and serves a two-year term. Currently, VIA Board Chair Hope Andrade is serving the second year of her two-year term as chair. The 11-member VIA Board of Trustees meets monthly to discuss policy issues. VIA Board meetings are generally held on the 4th Tuesday of each month.

VIA Metropolitan Transit provides public transportation services to 13 cities in the Greater San Antonio Region and the unincorporated areas of Bexar County. VIA operates seven days a week on 90 routes, and VIA provided 44 million rides across the region last year. VIA’s mission is to enhance the community’s quality of life by providing regional and customer-oriented public transportation that is dependable, cost-effective and enticing to more riders. VIA’s AAA bond rating reflects the organization’s sound management and financial practices. Follow us on,, and