SAN ANTONIO (Dec. 15, 2016) – The VIA Metropolitan Transit Board of Trustees re-elected three officers at their Dec. 13, 2016 meeting: Hope Andrade will serve as chair, Stephen P. Allison will remain vice chair, and Lester Bryant continues as secretary.

Chair Andrade was first elected to lead the Board of Trustees in January 2015. She served as a member of the Texas Department of Transportation Commission from 2003 through 2008, and she was the Chair of the Transportation Commission in 2008. Andrade had previously served on the VIA Board of Trustees from 1995 through 1997. Her public service record also includes serving as the Texas Secretary of State, and as a representative of employers on the Texas Workforce Commission.

Trustee Allison was re-elected as vice chair of the VIA Board. Allison was appointed to the VIA Board in December 2009 by the Greater Bexar County Council of Cities, and he was first elected as vice chair in January 2015. He is a partner at Jefferson Cano Allison Barkley, PLLC, and he has more than 40 years of legal experience.

Trustee Bryant was also re-elected as secretary of the VIA Board for 2017. Bryant was first appointed to the Board in September 2014 by the City of San Antonio. He also serves on the Board of Directors for the American Public Transportation Association (APTA), as the Secretary of the APTA Transit Board Member Committee, and on the Board of Directors for the American Public Transportation Foundation. He is a financial services professional with Mass Mutual South Texas and has more than 30 years’ experience in telecommunications, information technology, and financial services.

The VIA Board of Trustees vice chair and secretary both serve a one-year term. The chair of the Board is elected by the Board members and serves a two-year term. The 11-member VIA Board of Trustees meets monthly to discuss policy issues. VIA Board meetings are generally held on the 4th Tuesday of each month.

VIA Metropolitan Transit provides regional multimodal transportation options that connect our community to opportunity, support economic vitality and enhance quality of life throughout our region. VIA serves 14 member cities and the unincorporated areas of Bexar County, operating seven days a week on 90 routes. In 2015, VIA provided 42.2 million rides across the region. VIA’s AAA bond rating reflects the organization’s sound management and financial practices. Visit for more information. Follow us on,, and