SAN ANTONIO (March 30, 2018) –VIA President/CEO Jeffrey C. Arndt has been selected to serve as Chair for the South West Transit Association (SWTA) Board of Directors. The regional transit association formed in 1979 to represent transit operators and others interested in public transit issues. Arndt was elected at the organization’s annual meeting held March 5-7, 2018, in Denver.

“I’m excited to continue in a leadership role at SWTA. The organization works strategically and pro-actively to equip member organizations with information in our rapidly changing industry, and to share the benefits of transit with public officials,” Arndt said. “SWTA, through its exemplary staff and engaged members, is advancing smart and sustainable public transportation options for communities across the Southwest.”

Arndt will serve a two-year term as SWTA Board Chair. He previously served as the Association’s vice president for two years and as a director at large, along with 18 representatives from across eight Southwestern states, including Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.


About VIA Metropolitan Transit
VIA provides regional multimodal transportation options that connect our community to opportunity, support economic vitality, and enhance quality of life throughout our region. VIA, recognized by the Texas Transit Association in 2016 as the outstanding Metro Transit Authority of the year, serves 14 member cities and the unincorporated areas of Bexar County, operating seven days a week on 92 routes. Last year, VIA provided nearly 40 million rides across the region. VIA’s AAA bond rating reflects the organization’s sound management and financial practices. Visit for more information. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.


CONTACT: Lorraine Pulido, Ph.D.
c 210-380-6895