The National Diversity Council has selected VIA Metropolitan Transit President and CEO Jeffrey C. Arndt (right) as an Individual DiversityFIRST Leadership Award winner for his service as a lifetime champion for diversity and inclusion.

The Individual DiversityFIRST Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding achievements and sustained commitment, to the pursuit of cultural diversity and inclusion in the community and workplace, fostering an environment where individuals are valued for their talent and able to reach their full potential. Arndt received the award at the Texas Diversity Council’s Annual Greater San Antonio Best Practices and DiversityFIRST Awards Luncheon on Wednesday.

“Jeff has dedicated his career to leading by example on issues like collaboration, inclusion, and access to opportunity in the transportation industry,” VIA Board Chair Hope Andrade said. “With Jeff’s leadership, VIA consistently supports initiatives focused on diversity, respect, and inclusiveness in every aspect as part of our service to the community.”

Arndt has previously been recognized as a CEO Champion of Diversity for the Texas Diversity Council in 2014, and in 2015 he received the inaugural Secretary Ray LaHood Award from the San Antonio Chapter of the Women’s Transportation Seminar (WTS) for advancing the careers of women and minorities in transportation.