Wolff, Gonzalez begin first terms; Cooper reappointed to third term

Image: VIA Board Members Ayda Gonzalez and Kevin WolffThe VIA Metropolitan Transit Board of Trustees welcomed two new members Tuesday — former County Commissioner Kevin Wolff and Ayda Gonzalez, P.E., a local engineer.

The Greater Bexar County Council of Cities appointed Wolff to fill the post previously held by A. David Marne, who was first appointed in 2014 and has completed four two-year terms — the maximum allowed.

Wolff previously served as the Bexar County Commissioner for Precinct 3 from 2008-2019 and as the District 9 member of the San Antonio City Council from 2005-2008. He also served as chairman of the Alamo Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (AAMPO), where he led the charge on numerous transportation projects for the San Antonio region. His professional business experience spans 30 years and includes human resources, organizational design, and business development and operations. As a Senior Vice President in Human Resources for Citigroup, he worked in Delaware and New York City.

Wolff served in the U.S. Navy, holding the position of Radioman aboard a guided-missile destroyer. He earned both a bachelor’s and a master’s in Business Administration from St. Mary’s University.

Bexar County Commissioners Court approved a request from County Judge Nelson Wolff to appoint Gonzalez to fill the unexpired term vacated by Marina Alderete Gavito. Gavito resigned earlier this month to serve as the first executive director for SA Digital Connects, a new nonprofit that aims to close the digital divide in San Antonio.

Gonzalez is a San Antonio native who currently serves as president/Chief Executive Officer for AG3 Group, LLC. She has over two decades of civil engineering experience, including oversight of the design and construction of transportation, traffic, aviation, rail, water and wastewater, and public/private development projects.

She holds a Bachelor of Science from Texas A&M University, is an active member of the local Women in Transportation Symposium (WTS) chapter and is dedicated to the advancement of women in the field of engineering.

“This is an exciting time at VIA, and we are fortunate to have trustees Wolff and Gonzalez join the Board,” VIA Board Chair Fernando Reyes said. “These appointments provide a fresh perspective while also bringing a wealth of experience in local governance and policy-making.”

Wolff was appointed to complete a one-year term that expires on December 31, 2022. Gonzalez’s term ends December 31, 2023.

Image: VIA Board Trustee Louis CooperTrustee Louis R. Cooper was re-appointed to his third two-year term on the VIA Board by the Greater Bexar County Council of Cities. Cooper is the former mayor of Alamo Heights.

He has also served on the boards of the Cancer Therapy & Research Center, the American Cancer Society, Respite Care, and the Bank of San Antonio. Trustee Cooper is a lifetime member of the San Antonio Greater Chamber of Commerce.

The 11-member VIA Board meets monthly to discuss policy issues and hear comments from the community. VIA Board meetings are generally held on the fourth Tuesday of each month.