VIA President/CEO Jeffrey C. Arndt has been selected to serve as a Vice President of The Bus Coalition Board of Directors. The Bus Coalition helps increase bus and bus facility-related funding for transit agencies nationwide. Since its inception, it has helped secure $8.1 billion and restored deep cuts made in previous federal legislation.

Arndt was elected during the American Public Transportation Association Legislative Conference in Washington, DC, held in March.

“I’m honored to serve on The Bus Coalition Board, an organization that is aligned with VIA’s mission and vision,” Arndt said. “I’m looking forward to being part of the Board’s important work to strategically and proactively advocate for bus transit and bus programs and ensure they receive funding necessary to provide safe and reliable service.”

Arndt noted that as part of the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 budget adoption, the U.S. Congress added an additional $250 million to bus funding, above what was in the levels of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, thanks in part to the advocacy by The Bus Coalition.

Arndt will serve a two-year term on the Board. He currently serves on several boards, including the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Texas Diversity Council, San Antonio for Growth on the Eastside, Visit San Antonio, the San Antonio Housing Commission, and the Texas Transit Association.

Elected every two years, the Bus Coalition’s Board represents a wide range of system sizes and geographic diversity. The Board serves to guide work and build relationships on Capitol Hill and within the transit community.   

With more than 350 coalition members and supporters and a footprint in 48 states and the District of Columbia, the Bus Coalition includes small, medium, and large transit agencies, state transit associations and bus manufacturers and suppliers.