Jeff Arndt named state’s Outstanding Public Transportation General Manager

The Texas Transit Association (TTA) named VIA Metropolitan Transit President and CEO Jeffrey C. Arndt as their 2023 Outstanding Public Transportation General Manager in recognition of his work and contributions to transform transportation in our region.

Each year, TTA selects a top public transportation manager who has made exceptional contributions to the transit industry and the State of Texas. With this recognition, TTA highlights Arndt’s role in expanding access to opportunity through programs like VIA’s Keep SA Moving plan. The voter-approved plan includes the region’s first Advanced Rapid Transit corridor project, expansion of VIA Link on-demand transit service, and improved bus service.

Arndt celebrates 10 years as president and CEO of the transit agency that also marks 45 years of service this year. He was presented the 2023 award Wednesday in Corpus Christi at the Annual TTA Conference, Expo and State Roadeo. He first earned the title in 2017.

“Whatever awards I get are not for me, they are for the entire staff at VIA,” Arnd said on the stage Wednesday and acknowledged the staff in attendance before inviting TTA members to San Antonio in 2024, when VIA hosts the state conference.

Arndt joined VIA in 2012, after a 25-year career at Houston METRO where he achieved the position of Senior Vice President of Operations/Chief Operating Officer. Since being named VIA President and CEO in 2013, he has led the agency through some of its most transformative years, including the development of multiple innovations to advance transit throughout the region, including technology and service products, enhanced passenger amenities, and strategic partnerships.

Recent accomplishments include:

♦ Adoption and implementation of the Keep SA Moving plan that, with voter approval, secures new, dedicated funding for transit improvements in San Antonio.
♦ Advancing the region’s first rapid transit corridor, set to open for service in 2027.
♦ Delivering over $150 million in federal funding commitments to support transit advancements – a first for San Antonio.
♦ Establishing VIA’s first on-demand micro-transit solution, VIA Link, now open in three service zones.
♦ Securing a funding and planning partnership with the City of San Antonio to invest in frequency improvements in key service areas throughout San Antonio.
♦ Introducing VIA’s volunteer service program, VIA Cares, which has contributed over 1,000 volunteer hours since it was founded at the height of the pandemic.

In addition to his service as president and CEO for VIA, Arndt is involved in several local Boards and organizations, including the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Visit San Antonio (past Chair), Texas Diversity Council, South West Transit Association (SWTA) (past Chair), The Bus Coalition (Vice Chair), Texas Transit Association (Vice Chair) and San Antonio for Growth on the Eastside (SAGE). Additionally, he has served as an adjunct professor in the public administration graduate program at the University of Houston. He was selected for the 38th Leadership San Antonio Class (2013); served on the Steering Committee for LSA 46; and is Co-Chair for LSA 47.

He has previously been recognized as a CEO Champion of Diversity for the Texas Diversity Council, and received the inaugural Secretary Ray LaHood Award from the San Antonio Chapter of the Women’s Transportation Seminar (WTS) for advancing the careers of women and minorities in transportation.